Posted in happiness, love, mother, Uncategorized

Happiness

AAEAAQAAAAAAAAKXAAAAJDRkYTczM2Q3LWEwZjktNDI3Yi05NGE4LWIzNjQwY2IxNDc1ZQ

This Friday I’m flying down to be with my dad.  The Wednesday after that would’ve been my folks 54th wedding anniversary, and I don’t want my dad being alone for that first.

Meanwhile, I’m learning lessons from my mums passing.  Not to take anyone for granted.  To never let my sons forget how unconditionally I love them.  And to appreciate my partner more, and to tell him that.  ‘M’ has been myrock, my safe place, through everything.  This will be my 4th trip to Cape Town in less than a year , and not once did he question whether it was necessary for me to go.  All he ever had to say was as much as he needed me, my parents needed me more.

Live is for living.  There is no second chance.  Embrace those you love,  dance in the rain, sing even if you’re tone deaf (as my ever-suffering partner has discovered about me).

And work on happiness.  The sound of a bird,  a childs’ laughter,  dogs barking, freshly baked bread, a hot cup of coffee, a flower blooming.  Happiness comes in many forms.  Stop what you’re doing,  keep still,  feel and hear the world around you.

And, sometimes, when all is still, I hear my mum whispering.  And my soul smiles, that she’s never really left, she’s always there, in my memories.  That even in sorrow and grief, it’s okay to feel joy and be happy.

index11

Leave a Reply

